2014 in Film Overview

Pride film still interstellar_a

2014 was a great year, film-wise. The Oscars and BAFTAs were wonderful this year with lots of fantastic nominations and award winners. The year saw some fantastic releases, notably Pride (Matthew Warchus, 2014), which topped my list of the best films of the year, and saw the release of Tim Burton’s Big Eyes at the end of the year which has earned the film three Golden Globe nominations and a return to the style of his earlier films, notably Big Fish and the pastel, surburban world of Edward Scissorhands.

I had my first film-viewing experience at the BFI Imax at the end of November with Christopher Nolan’s phenomenal Interstellar which was undoubtedly the most immersive film experience I’ve had, and although I failed to stick to my themed film months throughout the year, I did watch a whopping 457 films throughout 2014.

Now 2015 has arrived, and these are my film resolutions:

  • To keep up to date with reading Sight and Sound and Empire.
  • To spend more time browsing through the Sight and Sound archive.
  • To watch more films in the cinema. I work at the volunteer-led No.6 Cinema so this shouldn’t be a problem.
  • To spend more time researching film theory and working on my own essays.
  • To post more on my blog.
  • Beat my record of how many films I watch within a year (so to beat last year’s record of 457).
About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in 2015 in Films, What's On: Film and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2014 in Film Overview

  1. Nostra says:

    Great resolutions for the new year. Still have to think which ones I will set for myself. 457 movies is a lot and a number I would never be able to reach….already happy if I’m around the 300 mark.

    • I must admit that I was very impressed with myself for reaching that, particularly as I had a couple of months where I barely saw anything due to being on holiday. Hopefully I can beat it this year though 🙂

  2. MIB says:

    You need to add an extra resolution – be nice to me! I’m sure you can do it if you really try. 😉

  3. movierob says:

    good luck with your resolutions. you’ve definitely seen some great movies this year!

Leave a Reply

