Afterthoughts on the Golden Globes 2014

Golden Globes logo

The Golden Globe Awards have finally arrived!!

     Awards season has finally arrived for cinema, and began last night with the 71st Annual Golden Globes Ceremony. It is an exciting time of year for film fans everywhere as cinephiles eagerly make their predictions on who will pick up the award for best film or best actor, and the media splash out their promotional material of all the competing films as they battle in healthy competition for the top spot.

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler host the 71st annual Golden Globe Awards

     Although I am more excited for the BAFTAs and Oscars, the Golden Globes are a fantastic lead up to the two main film events of the year, as they indicate films and actors which may make the top spot at the more critically appreciated ceremonies to come. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosted the event last night, with guest appearances from the likes of Johnny Depp, Emma Watson, and even P. Diddy to hand over the awards to the winning participants. A great number of stars accepted their trophies with some thoroughly moving and memorable speeches. It was my favourite Golden Globes ceremony yet.

Although I do love watching the Golden Globes, I was however, very disappointed with a lot of the winning choices last night. I felt a lot of films and actors who deserved the awards Amy Adamslost to those who have not struck me as particularly ground-breaking in the past year. I was thoroughly overjoyed with some of the winners in the second half of the ceremony however. Amy Adams for instance absolutely deserved the award for her role in American Hustle! It astounds me that she hasn’t won an Oscar yet despite being nominated four times (Junebug, Doubt, The Fighter, The Master). I was very happy with the award win for Alfonso Cuarón for his direction of Gravity. I have yet to see the film, but Cuarón is one of my all-time favourite directors. Leonardo DiCaprio is another actor who won an award, this time for his performance in The Wolf on Wall Street. I do not think he gets another critical appraisal for his acting roles. He truly is a wonderful performer to watch on screen.

I have really only focused on the film awards, and before the Golden Globes, I was predicting that Gravity would scoop up the majority of the awards at the BAFTAs and Oscars, but due to all of the attention 12 Years A Slave and American Hustle achieved last night, I may have to rethink my BAFTA predictions HERE.

The BAFTAs will air February 16th on BBC1 with a pre red carpet show on BBC3.

See the full list of Golden Globes film winners here.

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in Film Awards, What's On: Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

