Happy 1st birthday to my Enchanted By Film website!!

film

Today, New Year’s Day, marks the 1st anniversary of my website, Enchanted By Film. And what a remarkable year it has been!!! I achieved 6116 views in my first year, despite lagging in posting the past few months (I have the more recent posts finished and just need to update the site over the next few days ;-)). I have also networked with a lot of people through our wordpress blogs, Twitter, and my Facebook page, and through speaking with them, I have been inspired to watch so many new films I would otherwise never have seen, and likewise, through speaking with American cinephiles, I have joined a few film #TCMParties (a definition of which can be seen here). I have also inspired other people to take up the challenge and to watch films they wouldn’t normally because they’d appeared in my top 5 picks of the month, etc, and so that has made it all really worthwhile too.

So the reason I created this website a year ago, was essentially to better my understanding of film, and to encourage myself to watch new films that would broaden my knowledge of film. Counting up all of the new-to-me films I have seen throughout the year, they total precisely 429, which is an average of 1.18 films per day. This year I would like to up that amount and watch way more new-to-me films, but also count the films I rewatch so that I can see the total amount of films watched per year (that 429 figure this year didn’t even include films I watched that I’d seen before!!).

Each month this year will also have a different theme, with me watching as many films as possible throughout the month linked to that. I will also accompany these with an essay on or introduction to the subject to sharpen up my writing skills and provide the context of my monthly theme. Each month comes with its own hashtag to easily follow it, and the year will begin with #CarryOnJokingJanuary where I will watch Carry On films and Ealing comedies and write some form of essay/introduction on the type of comedy used in them.

I’m also going to publish a weekly film quote, and a monthly examination of ‘Auteur of the month’, starting with Tim Burton in January 2014. Other ideas may crop up throughout the year, but I’m hoping to really work on my writing skills this year, and not let a single day go by where I don’t learn something new about film.

I feel like I’ve achieved so much in terms of enhancing my film knowledge, and this year also marked the year I graduated from University with a First Class honours in Film Studies. I also started working amongst my two main jobs, for the No 6 Cinema, which I will soon be giving talks before film screenings, and I have started saving for my Masters degree too, so it has been a great year for me, and here’s to outdoing myself in 2014!! 🙂

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in Misc, Working With Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 1st birthday to my Enchanted By Film website!!

  1. Jon Rutledge says:

    Happy birth day to you, happy birth day to you happy birth day dear Enchatedbyfilmwebsite happy birth day to you.

Leave a Reply

