2014 In Film – Themed Film Months

Throughout my 2013 in films challenge, it occurred to me, that as I was taking part in Noirvember (a worldwide participation in watching film noir films throughout November, daily if possible), perhaps I could theme each month. I could then end the month with some form of academic essay or introduction to the subject based on what I had learnt through my research. I have come up with ideas for the majority of the months, but am yet to theme them all. These are my monthly themes thus far:

Carry On Joking January
carry on camping
Throughout January I will watch Carry On films and Ealing comedies to trace the development of quintessential British comedies of the mid 20th Century. For instance, the Carry On films didn’t start off creating laughs in the same way the later films did, and the Carry On films were significantly influenced by the British Ealing comedies. Throughout January, I hope to understand how British comedy developed and end the month with some form of essay on the subject.

Fairytale February
alice in wonderland
February will be my month to focus on films that are adapted (loosely or more formally) from classic fairy tales. I will also examine films that incorporate fairytale ideas into their narratives. I hope to understand by the end of the month the role that fairytales play in contemporary cinema, and the reason for such an upsurge in fairytale adaptations significantly, I have noticed, since the release of Burton’s Alice In Wonderland in 2010.

Musical March
Wizard of Oz
Musicals play a large part in cinema in terms of creating a fantasy world and acting themselves as a spectacle and arguably a form of escapism. In watching musicals of all different kinds, from Moulin Rouge to Oliver! through to the musicals of the classical Hollywood era, I hope to find links between these different form of musical performances and understand their appeal to audiences.

Animated April
Lotte Reiniger
Animated films aren’t regarded very highly generally amongst many film critics, however I personally find animated films fascinating. I think the ways in which filmmakers create a story, emotion and a strong narrative through the many forms of animation should be regarded as filmmaking genius. From the stop motion animation of Tim Burton and Ray Harryhausen, the shadow puppet animation of Lotte Reiniger and the 2D, to the visually stunning animation of Michael Ocelot. I hope throughout this month to understand the ways in which animation attempts to create story and emotion through animating techniques, and similarly how animation has developed over time.

May
I have yet to find a theme for May. Ideas/suggestions are welcome!

June
I have yet to find a theme for June. Ideas/suggestions are welcome!

J’Adore July
Cinema Paradiso
Cinema plays a major role in many people’s lives. It acts as a form of comfort, entertainment, and even a mode of identity in which the spectator purposely watches films in order to work through problems that are similarly experienced by the character in the film. I hope through July to watch films that I myself love, and films which are very much adored by audiences and rated highly amongst critics to understand the impact of cinema more thoroughly.

Auteur August
Alfred Hitchcock
Throughout August I will be focusing on the notion of the auteur, that is, a director or filmmaker whose work is seen as his/her piece of ‘art’, and that they essentially are the creative force behind the film. Notable auteurs include Alfred Hitchcock and Tim Burton. I will examine various ‘auteurs’ and view several pieces of their work to see if I can trace a pattern and whether the other crew members vary (which may imply the creative choices are indeed down to the director), or stay the same (in which case those same crew members may be influencing the creative control of the film with their own personal styles). I do personally believe in the auteur, but that to realise their vision, the auteur must have a strong crew that they communicate really well with and who are able to fully realise the director’s vision with their own technical skills on the camera, with sound/scoring, editing, etc. So, my aim of this month is to trace the auteur theory and see if that notion still exists in cinema today.

Silent September
Orphans of the Storm
September will focus on watching silent films in order to understand how silent cinema actied primarily as a form of spectacle at its inception. In understanding this, I will then trace its seamless development into a mode of storytelling as the films became longer and incorporated and developed their use of cinematic techniques. I will watch a whole range of silent cinema, from the likes of George Melies to D.W. Griffith, through to the early films of Fritz Lang. I hope to furthermore understand how silent cinema radically changed as the ‘talkie’ was introduced in the late 1920’s.

October Fright Fest
The Cabinet of Dr Caligari
October Fright Fest will include viewing a whole range or horror films, from contemporary horrors, to slasher films, to what was considered as early horror in the form of German Expressionism and the Hammer House and Universal horrors. I’m hoping to use my film viewing this month in order to understand the appeal of horror to audiences and similarly the ways in which spectators’ find pleasure in seeing things which would likely traumatise them in real life. I’m not a huge fan of many contemporary horrors as I just scare easily when watching them alone, so I hope that I can put that aside this month in order to understand the topic fully. It will also be the London Film Festival this month, so I’m hoping to have plenty of time to put aside for the films so that I don’t lack in my research.

Noirvember
Citizen Kane
Noirvember is a global participation in watching film noirs. I hope through the month to watch as many noir films as possible as I have seen very few. I aim to understand their history and their origin in the German Expressionist films, and how film noir influenced filmmakers such as Alfred Hitchcock. I hope to use my research to write an introduction to film noir and my pick of the best I have seen throughout the month.

December Christmas Crackers
A Christmas Carol
December will likely be spent watching Christmas films, and so I will use December to compile a list of my top Christmas movies and other things that fit in with the Christmas theme. I will also be using my time to prepare for new challenges for 2015, along with an overview of my 2014 in film.

I’m really looking forward to the new challenges and the opportunities I will have this year to develop my writing skills. It also provides me with an aim and objective each month that I hope to fulfil, so here’s to a new year of learning about film! Follow the page to keep updated on my challenge participation, or you can *like* my facebook page HERE, and my twitter page HERE.

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in 2014 In Films, 2014 In Films Monthly Summaries, Learn About Film, Personal Film Research and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 In Film – Themed Film Months

  1. Pingback: 61 years since Walt Disney’s adaptation of Peter Pan hit cinemas | "Everything I learned, I learned from the movies" - Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

