Shaking Up The Way We Watch Film – Joining In The TCM Party

images

TCM (Turner Classic Movies) is a tv channel which broadcasts cinematic gems that are renowned as either old film or contemporary classics. It has become a popular event to join a ‘TCM Party’, where those watching the films on American TCM, joined by those in other countries watching the same film at the same time via online or dvd, to tweet or post on facebook, tumblr, etc about the film, followed by #TCMParty.

tcmcatalog

I joined my first TCM Party on August 31st with My Fair Lady (1964). It’s not only fun, but can also be eye-opening to take part. For instance, after the viewing of My Fair Lady, people were tweeting about different theories that had come up about the film, for example, ‘Eliza has daddy issues’, and ‘Mr Higgins is homosexual’.

It’s a great event to take part in, sharing the experience of watching classic films with other cinephiles across the globe.

Check the TCM website for their schedule and work out the time difference dependent on where you live (here in the UK we’re 5 hours ahead, making it sometimes

downloadhard to join in with the prime time films if we have work in the morning, etc).

And be sure to join me on tumblr, twitter, or facebook for my live posts when joining the party. And don’t forget to hashtag your posts with #TCMParty

 

I’ll also throw in a couple of recommendations for Twitter people to follow who often join the TCM Party:

Aurora (whose website can also be found here)

TCM_Party host, who you can tag in your TCM Party posts too.

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in What's On: Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shaking Up The Way We Watch Film – Joining In The TCM Party

  1. Aurora says:

    How fabulous!! Thanks for the mention and I love that you’re so passionate to join us from across the world! My favorite part of having found this wonderful, classic film loving community is crossing paths with people like you! I mean that!

    Aurora

    • Awww thank you so much!! It’s great being able to join in with these things. I own quite a few films (Hitchcock films for instance), that I’ve had for agggges and just never got round to watching despite them being cinematic gems. So the TCM Party motivates me to finally watch them, and it’s so much fun too 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy 1st birthday to my Enchanted By Film website!! | "Everything I learned, I learned from the movies" - Audrey Hepburn

  3. Pingback: TCM’s 31 Days of Oscars | "Everything I learned, I learned from the movies" - Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

