BCUR Conference: The Influence of German Expressionism on Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie (2012)

bcur This April I attended the British Conference of Undergraduate Research (BCUR) in Plymouth specifically for undergraduates in the UK to present research, where I was offered the opportunity to present my own research in the form of a poster presentation. I had submitted a short extract to a board of judges who had given me this wonderful opportunity, and I chose the subject of German Expressionism for my presentation.

At the time I was researching the development of German Expressionism and fairytales from their origins to their influence on German art, literature and cinema, through to their combined influence on contemporary film. The subject is very close to my heart and something I am interested in constantly researching and developing an understanding of, and it seemed the perfect subject for my presentation at my first conference.

I created a large poster display of my research on how Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie (2012) incorporated German Expressionist aesthetics and dealt with similar Freudian horror and the Uncanny that can be applied to many German Expressionist films.

11041344_10153148758230747_1548476351_n

At the conference I then spoke to other undergraduates across the UK who were presenting their own research at the conference about my research interests and the development of my research on German Expressionism in Burton’s films. I found the two days at BCUR to be very interesting and eye opening. I learnt a lot about all different kinds of subject matters from other undergraduates, and it was a real confidence booster too in encouraging me to want to attend many more conferences in the future and to carry on continually developing my own research.

bcur image

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in Learn About Film, Personal Film Research, Working With Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

