Movie Quote of the Day – Memoirs of a Geisha (Rob Marshall, 2005)

Sayuri: Chairman, what happened on the island…

Chairman: Please, you don’t have to explain.

Sayuri: But I have shamed myself so deeply, past all forgiveness.

Chairman: No! I’m the one who must be forgiven.

Sayuri: I do not understand.

Chairman: Perhaps… if you had only known the truth.

Sayuri: The truth?

Chairman: Some years ago, I was on my way to the theater. I saw a little girl weeping by the Sunagawa. I stopped to buy her a cup of sweet ice.

Sayuri: You knew I was that little girl?

Chairman: Didn’t you ever wonder why Mameha took you under her wing?

Sayuri: Mameha came to me because of you?… I wish you could have told me long ago.

Chairman: What could I do? I owe Nobu my life. And so when I saw that he had a chance at happiness with you, I stood silent, but… But I cannot any longer. I hope… it is not too late. Don’t be afraid to look at me, Chiyo.

Sayuri: Can’t you see? Every step I have taken, since I was that child on the bridge, has been to bring myself closer to you.

[finally kiss and embrace, cries in his arms]

About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in Movie Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

