Top 10 Favourite Films

A top 10 list can change pretty often, and this list has changed before, but at the moment this is as close to my top 10 films of all time (in no particular order).

  • Pans Labyrinth (Guillermo Del Toro, 2006)
  • Edward Scissorhands (Tim Burton, 1990)
  • Metropolis (Fritz Lang, 1927)
  • The Full Monty (Peter Cattaneo, 1997)
  • Some Like It Hot (Billy Wilder, 1959)
  • Life Is Beautiful (Roberto Benigni, 1997)
  • Beauty And The Beast (Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise, 1991)
  • The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari (Robert Wiene, 1920)
  • Singing In The Rain (Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly, 1952)
  • La Belle et la Bête (Jean Cocteau, 1946)
About Enchanted By Film

1st class Film uni graduate who has a love for films old and new. I write for Diegesis and Film Matters film journals. Currently saving to do a Masters and PhD in Film. My ambition is to be a University lecturer on film and write about film academically. I also wouldn't mind working for the BFI or writing for Sight and Sound :-)
This entry was posted in Favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top 10 Favourite Films

  1. Pingback: Happy 50th Birthday Johnny Depp!! Top 10 Johnny Depp films. | "Everything I learned, I learned from the movies" - Audrey Hepburn

  2. Pingback: Happy 50th Birthday Johnny Depp!! Top 10 Johnny Depp films. | "Everything I learned, I learned from the movies" - Audrey Hepburn

  3. aubreym3 says:

    It is nice to see someone else admires German Expressionist Films and has similar tastes in films as myself. the only film’s I have not seen on your list are Full Monty and Pan’s Labyrinth. If you haven’t seen them yet, I would recommend the Japanese animated film Metropolis (2001) based on Fritz Lang’s masterpiece, F. W. Murnau’s Nosferatu (1922) and Sunrise (1927) and Paul Leni’s The Man Who Laughs (1928).

    • I’ve seen all of those! Love them 🙂 I wrote my university dissertation on German Expressionist film. I’m just about to post another of my old uni essays and will post my G.E. one very soon too! So watch this space! 🙂

      • aubreym3 says:

        That is so uncanny. I wrote my university dissertation on Expressionist film as well!

      • Oh wow! What did you focus on? I wrote about the influence of fairy tales on German Expressionism, starting briefly with art and stories, and then films, and how the legacy of German Expressionist film influenced contemporary film 🙂

      • aubreym3 says:

        I talked about how the films were a reflection of Germany’s overall state of mind. I focused on Calighari, Nosferatu, Waxworks and Meteopolis as well as the Reindarht theater.

  4. I saw Pan on the sidebar on Emma’s site (Pan’s Labyrinth is my favourite movie!) and then when I hovered over it, my favourite quote popped up!! “Everything I learned, I learned from the movies.” I feel like we have a lot in common, so happy I found your site!

Leave a Reply

